in

New Darcy Coates Novel FROM BELOW on Sale June 7th

A beach read perfect for fans of The Luminous Dead and the gothic flourish of Alma Katsu, FROM BELOW by USA Today bestselling author Darcy Coates pulls us under for a psychological and emotional, atmospheric horror. In these waters, the silence is deafening and it’s all too easy to breathe life into the demons that chase us.

Years ago, the SS Arcadia vanished without a trace during a routine voyage. Though a strange, garbled emergency message was broadcast, neither the ship nor any of its crew could be found. Sixty years later, its wreck has finally been discovered more than three hundred miles from its intended course…a silent graveyard deep beneath the ocean’s surface, eagerly waiting for the first sign of life.

Cove and her dive team have been granted permission to explore the Arcadia’s rusting hull. Their purpose is straightforward: examine the wreck, film everything, and, if possible, uncover how and why the supposedly unsinkable ship vanished.

But the Arcadia has not yet had its fill of death, and something dark and hungry watches from below. With limited oxygen and the ship slowly closing in around them, Cove and her team will have to fight their way free of the unspeakable horror now desperate to claim them.

Because once they’re trapped beneath the ocean’s waves, there’s no going back.

DARCY COATES is the USA Today bestselling author of Hunted, The Haunting of Ashburn House, The Haunting of Leigh Harker, and more than a dozen horror and suspense titles. She lives on the Central Coast of Australia with her family, cats, and a garden full of herbs and vegetables.

“A silent graveyard is eagerly waiting for the first sign of life. The SS Arcadia vanished without a trace during a routine voyage. Though a strange, garbled emergency message was broadcast, neither the ship nor any of its crew could be found. “With a timeline that jumps between the last few days before the Arcadia sank and the present-day, Coates’s latest slowly ratchets up the tension and will leave readers gasping for air (Library Journal).”

“Creepy, claustrophobic, and thoroughly frightening. Perfect for fans of undersea terror.” — Booklist

“Coates demonstrates her skill at conjuring atmospheric horror and maintaining taut suspense in the dual timelines of this standalone outing…Coates’s subtle plotting makes this a solid pick for horror fans.” —Publishers Weekly

“I read this book straight up two weeks ago and haven’t been able to stop thinking about it since. It was _awesome_. Everything I absolutely wanted but didn’t know I could ever have: haunted ass Titanic. It was like The Luminous Dead by Caitlin Starling meets Dead Silence by SA Barnes but underwater.” — Allegra J., Librarian at Linden Hall School for Girls

“I love Darcy Coates—I think she is to horror what Ruth Ware is to thriller. Coates always deliveries solid scary stories, but with a satisfying ending.” — Cait G, NetGalley

Written by Michael Therkelsen

(Senior Editor)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.