Fantaspoa 2019: Final wave of titles, market projects, events, and guests!


Acclaimed Brazilian Festival Celebrates 15th Year With Over 100 Incredible Features and Shorts and Projects

Porto Alegre, Brazil – 03 May 2019 – Brazil’s Fantaspoa, the largest genre film festival in Latin America, is proud to unveil its final wave of films selected for their upcoming fifteenth edition, running from May 16th through June 2nd. This announcement completes the fest’s full 2019 line-up, consisting of more than 100 films.

The festival’s live events will kick-off with an Alice in Wonderland-themed costume party, followed by a concert featuring, among others, Demian Rugna’s band, Pasco 637. As they did last year, the festival will celebrate its closing night party, a masquerade ball, aboard a boat on the Guaiba River, the massive body of water that creates the “Port” of Porto Alegre.

In addition to the festival’s final 21 feature films that are being unveiled today – which proudly includes three new World Premieres – the Fantaspoa is very excited to reveal the full list of projects selected for its second annual film production market, FantasMercado.

Newly-announced attending filmmakers include Brian Avenet-Bradley, Pawel Borowski, Braden Croft, Lukasz Dzieciol, Daniela Giménez, Sebastián Mariño, Erwan Marinopoulos, Facundo Nuble, Matias Oniria, Pablo Parés, Gerard Quinto, Alejo Rébora, Martin Samper, Eugene Simon, and Kirill Sokolov. They join over two dozen previously announced guests, including Roger Corman, Julie Corman, Christina Lindberg, Josh Lobo, Justin McConell, Julian Richards, Demian Rugna, and Larry Wilson.

The final round of fantastic features selected for Fantaspoa 2019 are:

7 Reasons to Run Away (From Society) (Gerard Quinto, Esteve Soler, David Torras, Spain) – Latin-American Premiere

Achoura (Talal Selhami, Morroco, France) – Latin-American Premiere

Casa de Sudor y Lágrimas (Sonia Escolano, Spain) – Latin-American Premiere

Echoes of Fear (Brian Avenet-Bradley and Laurence Avenet-Bradley, U.S.) – Latin-American Premiere

Every Time I Die (Robi Michael, U.S.) – Latin-American Premiere

Fly Me to the Saitama (Hideki Takeuchi, Japan) – Latin-American Premiere

Hannas’s Homecoming (Esther Bialas, Germany) – Latin-American Premiere

Harpoon (Rob Grant, Canada) – Brazilian Premiere

His Master’s Voice (György Pálfi, Canada, Hungary, France, Sweden, U.S.) – Latin-American Premiere

I Am Lying Now (Pawel Borowski, Poland, Netherlands) – World Premiere

Kill Ben Lyk (Erwan Marinopoulos, U.K., France) – Latin-American Premiere

The Night Sitter (Abiel Bruhn and John Rocco, U.S.) – Latin-American Premiere

Red Letter Day (Cameron Macgowan, Canada) – Latin-American Premiere

Soy Tóxico (Pablo Parés, Argentina) – Brazilian Premiere

Tr3sh: La Concha de Su Madre (Alejo Rébora, Argentina, Brazil) – World Premiere

True Fiction (Braden Croft, Canada) – World Premiere

The Unthinkable (Crazy Pictures, Sweden) – Latin-American Premiere

El Vampiro del Lago (Carl Zitelmann, Venezuela) – Brazilian Premiere

Why Don’t You Just Die? (Kirill Sokolov, Russia) – Latin-American Premiere

Wilkolak (Werewolf) (Adrian Panek, Poland, Netherlands, Germany) – Latin-American Premiere

You Might Be The Killer (Brett Simmons, U.S.) – Latin-American Premiere

Fantaspoa’s second annual production market, FantasMercado, is proud to announce its selected projects, which showcase the best and brightest in upcoming Latin American genre talent.

Apolo 69 (Alejo Rébora, Argentina)

Área de Escape (Armando Fonseca, Brazil)

As 7 Pecadoras (Fernando Sanches, Brazil)

Carranca (Kapel Furman, Brazil)

Cielo Rojo (Gigantes de metal) (Marcelo Leguiza, Argentina)

Confissões Homicidas (Paulo Biscaia Filho, Brazil)

Las Entrañas (Inti Carrizo-Ortiz, Chile)

Luz Mala (Juan Schmidt, Argentina)

Mitra, Apaga la Luz para Poder Ver (Diego Sebastian Bellocchio, Argentina)

O Campo dos Lobos Guarás (Paulo Caldas, Brazil)

Província de São Pedro (Iuri Minfroy, Brazil)

Régimen (Fabian Forte, Argentina)

El Ultimo Hereje (Daniel de la Vega, Argentina)

Written by Michael Therkelsen

(Senior Editor)